New Beacon Schools - March 2015

In addition to the five existing Beacon Schools who have renewed their commitment to The Beacon Scholarship for Schools, four other world class secondary schools have now joined the Beacon programme:

Brookhouse Secondary School

Greensteds International Senior School

Hillcrest Secondary School

International School of Kenya (ISK)

The intention of The Beacon Scholarship is to enable especially gifted children of Kenyan nationality to obtain a high quality primary and secondary education at a Beacon School in Kenya which their parents would otherwise be unable to afford, and which will eventually enable them to attain leadership positions in Kenya.

BET Trustees are delighted that these four secondary schools have joined The Beacon Scholarship programme to develop future leaders for Kenya. They join five existing Beacon Schools which have renewed their commitment:

Pembroke House School

Peponi House Preparatory School

Peponi School

St. Andrew's Preparatory School

St. Andrew's Senior School & College

Beacon Schools are equal stakeholders, alongside BET and Beacon Scholar parents/guardians/sponsors; each party funds 1/3 of termly tuition fees. The schools are also committed to building the leadership skills of Beacon Scholars, and to mentoring them to help them realise their potential.

The addition of four Beacon Schools at secondary level continues BET's strategy of building and broadening a vertical platform for developing future leaders for Kenya. In addition to primary and secondary schools, BET has partnerships to enable entry into two leading international universities - University of Cambridge and The London School of Economics - via The Beacon Scholarship for University. Through the newly-expanded Beacon Scholarship for Schools programme, with now six outstanding secondary schools, the probability of a wider and stronger pool of applicants for The Beacon Scholarship for University is greatly increased.

BET Trustees are now actively searching for additional world class international universities to join the programme; and for development partners to participate in its mission to build future leaders for Kenya.